Areas of competence

As the Fraunhofer IAPT, our additive experts stand for sustainable innovation in the field of additive production. This ranges from developments on the process and material level, the development of novel component designs and system technologies to factory planning and digitization.

Our range of services in the area of contract research is aimed at business and industry as well as society and covers the entire process chain.

Industrial and service companies of all sizes benefit from our many years of experience in additive production technologies. For our customers we develop and optimize technologies, processes and products up to the production of prototypes and small series.

 

AM DESIGN

© Fraunhofer IAPT

In the case of additive production technologies, the design of the future component is the first priority. A component can be manufactured cost-effectively and resource-efficiently, especially if the design is adapted to the later production process already in the construction phase. The quality of a component also depends decisively on the construction (design) and the planned processing steps. It can be directly monitored and controlled during production by means of appropriate continuous monitoring.

Further information




 

AM PROCESSES

© Fraunhofer IAPT

The AM Processes department is concerned with the development and optimization of materials, manufacturing processes and aftertreatment steps for additive manufactured components. The primary goal is to minimize manufacturing costs, e.g. by increasing process speeds or suitable beam shaping, and to optimize the quality of the components.

Further information

AM SYSTEMS

© Fraunhofer IAPT

The AM Systeme department develops tailor-made solutions for smart and highly automated additive production. Concepts for quality-assured "First Time Right" production of complex components of batch size 1 are developed and realized up to intelligent machine interlinking in terms of Industry 4.0. The department is divided into two specialist groups in which the necessary technological components are developed and implemented for industry. The service
comprises the development of individual system components, the linking and realization of completely autonomous process chains and their implementation as an Additive Mobile Factory. This is complemented by the mapping of process sequences in a digital twin and the simulation-supported optimization of production lines in a self-developed tool.

Further information

 

ADDITIVE ACADEMY

The Additive Academy provides application-oriented knowledge on topics related to the industrial use of Additive Production (AM). Benefit from the comprehensive expert knowledge of the leading research institute for additive production technologies. Our training program will help you to identify the opportunities and challenges of this innovative production technology and to successfully implement it in your own company.

Further information

IAPT MEDICAL CENTER

Medical technology is a constantly growing and at the same time challenging field for innovations and their application. Additive production technologies and artificial intelligence (AI) in particular have shown that they are important components in modern, patient-specific care. The Medical Competence Center established at the Fraunhofer IAPT conducts research in both fields of competence and supports companies, hospitals and physicians in the realization and implementation of the new medical workflow.

Further information

 

IAPT CENTER LASER AND LARGE STRUCTURES

The Fraunhofer IAPT operates its own competence center for laser processing and for the construction of large structures. The special know-how includes laser-based joining technologies as well as various additive manufacturing processes for metals, plastics and concrete. The development goals and activities are focused on innovative and optimized processes, improved material properties, the necessary processing and monitoring systems and associated automation solutions.

Further information

Head of Department

Tim Wischeropp

Contact Press / Media

Tim Wischeropp

Abteilungsleitung Design

Fraunhofer-Einrichtung für Additive Produktionstechnologien IAPT
Am Schleusengraben 14
21029 Hamburg

Phone +49 40 484010-722

Fax +49 40 484010-999

Philipp Imgrund

Contact Press / Media

Dr.-Ing. Philipp Imgrund

Abteilungsleitung Prozesse

Fraunhofer-Einrichtung für Additive Produktionstechnologien IAPT
Am Schleusengraben 14
21029 Hamburg

Phone +49 40 484010-740

Fax +49 40 484010-999

Frank Beckmann

Contact Press / Media

Frank Beckmann

Abteilungsleitung Autonome Systeme

Fraunhofer-Einrichtung für Additive Produktionstechnologien IAPT
Am Schleusengraben 14
21029 Hamburg

Phone +49 40 484010-620

Mobile +49 176 14840125

Fax +49 40 484010-999

Kompetenzbereiche

Als Fraunhofer IAPT stehen wir mit unseren additiven Experten für nachhaltige Innovation im Bereich der Additiven Produktion. Dies reicht von Entwicklungen auf Prozess- und Materialebene über die Entwicklung von neuartigen Bauteildesigns sowie Systemtechnologien bis hin zur Fabrikplanung und Digitalisierung.

Unser Leistungsspektrum im Bereich der Auftragsforschung wendet sich sowohl an Wirtschaft und Industrie als auch an die Gesellschaft und bildet die vollumfängliche Prozesskette ab.

Industrie- und Dienstleistungsunternehmen jeder Größe profitieren von unserer langjährigen Erfahrung Additiver Produktionstechnologien. Für unsere Kunden entwickeln und optimieren wir Technologien, Verfahren und Produkte bis hin zur Herstellung von Prototypen und Kleinserien.

AM DESIGN

© Fraunhofer IAPT

Bei den additiven Produktionstechnologien steht an erster Stelle das Design des zukünftigen Bauteils. Ein Bauteil kann besonders dann kostengünstig und ressourceneffizient hergestellt werden, wenn bereits in der Konstruktionsphase das Design an den späteren Fertigungsprozess angepasst wird. Die Qualität eines Bauteils hängt ebenfalls entscheidend von der Konstruktion (dem Design) und den geplanten Bearbeitungsschritten ab. Durch entsprechend kontinuierliche Überwachung kann sie während der Fertigung direkt überwacht und geregelt werden.

Mehr Informationen




 

AM PROZESSE

© Fraunhofer IAPT

Die Abteilung AM Prozesse befasst sich mit der Entwicklung und Optimierung von Werkstoffen, Fertigungsverfahren und Nachbehandlungsschritten für additiv gefertigte Komponenten. Vorrangiges Ziel ist es, die Herstellungskosten z. B. durch Erhöhung der Prozessgeschwindigkeiten oder geeignete Strahlformung zu minimieren und die Qualität der Bauteile zu optimieren.

Mehr Informationen

AM SYSTEME

© Fraunhofer IAPT

Die Abteilung AM Systeme entwickelt maßgeschneiderte Lösungen für die smarte und hoch automatisierte additive Produktion. Hierbei werden Konzepte der qualitätsgesicherten »First Time Right«-Fertigung komplexer Bauteile der Losgröße 1 entwickelt und diese bis hin zu intelligenten Maschinenverkettungen im Sinne von Industrie 4.0 realisiert. Die Abteilung gliedert sich in zwei Fachgruppen, in denen die notwendigen technologischen Bausteine entwickelt und für die Industrie umgesetzt werden. Die Dienstleistung
umfasst dabei die Entwicklung einzelner Systemkomponenten, die Verknüpfung und Realisierung vollständig autonomer Prozessketten sowie ihre Umsetzung als Additive Mobile Factory. Hinzu kommen die Abbildung der Prozessabläufe in einem digitalen Zwilling und die simulationsgestützte Optimierung von Produktionslinien in einem selbstentwickelten Tool.

Mehr Informationen
 

ADDITIVE ACADEMY

Die Additive Academy vermittelt anwendungsnahes Wissen zu Themen rund um den industriellen Einsatz von Additiver Produktion (AM). Profitieren Sie von dem umfassenden Expertenwissen der führenden Forschungseinrichtung für Additive Produktionstechnologien. Unser Trainingsprogramm unterstützt Sie dabei, Chancen und Herausforderungen dieser innovativen Produktionstechnologie zu erkennen und sie im eigenen Unternehmen erfolgreich zu implementieren.

Mehr Informationen

IAPT CENTER MEDIZINTECHNIK

Die Medizintechnik ist ein stetig wachsendes und zugleich anspruchsvolles Gebiet für Innovationen und deren Anwendung. Gerade die additiven Produktionsstechnologien und künstliche Intelligenz (KI) haben gezeigt, dass sie wichtige Bausteine in der modernen, patientenindividuellen Versorgung sind. Das am Fraunhofer IAPT eigens eingerichtete Medizin-Kompetenzcenter forscht auf beiden Kompetenzfeldern und unterstützt Unternehmen, Krankenhäuser und Mediziner bei der Umsetzung und Implementierung des neuen medizinischen Workflows.

Mehr Informationen

IAPT CENTER LASER UND GROSSSTRUKTUREN

Das Fraunhofer IAPT betreibt eigens ein Kompetenzcenter zur Laserbearbeitung und für den Aufbau von Großstrukturen. Das spezielle Know-how umfasst sowohl laserbasierte Fügetechnologien als auch verschiedene additive Herstellungsverfahren für Metalle, Kunststoffe und Beton. Die Entwicklungsziele und -tätigkeiten richten sich auf innovative und optimierte Prozesse, verbesserte Materialeigenschaften, die erforderlichen Bearbeitungs- und Überwachungssysteme sowie zugehörige Automatisierungslösungen.

Mehr Informationen

Abteilungsleitung

Tim Wischeropp

Contact Press / Media

Tim Wischeropp

Abteilungsleitung Design

Fraunhofer-Einrichtung für Additive Produktionstechnologien IAPT
Am Schleusengraben 14
21029 Hamburg

Telefon +49 40 484010-722

Fax +49 40 484010-999

Philipp Imgrund

Contact Press / Media

Dr.-Ing. Philipp Imgrund

Abteilungsleitung Prozesse

Fraunhofer-Einrichtung für Additive Produktionstechnologien IAPT
Am Schleusengraben 14
21029 Hamburg

Telefon +49 40 484010-740

Fax +49 40 484010-999

Frank Beckmann

Contact Press / Media

Frank Beckmann

Abteilungsleitung Autonome Systeme

Fraunhofer-Einrichtung für Additive Produktionstechnologien IAPT
Am Schleusengraben 14
21029 Hamburg

Telefon +49 40 484010-620

Mobil +49 176 14840125

Fax +49 40 484010-999